METCO Directors' Association | Scholarship
page-template-default,page,page-id-15661,qode-quick-links-1.0,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode_grid_1400,hide_top_bar_on_mobile_header,qode-content-sidebar-responsive,qode-theme-ver-13.5,qode-theme-bridge,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.2.1,vc_responsive


MDA Scholarship

For twenty-five years, the METCO Directors’ Association (MDA) awarded an annual scholarship in memory of former Scituate Public Schools METCO Director, Florence M. Howes. During that time, over thirty-five thousand dollars was awarded to eligible METCO seniors to assist in their continuing academic endeavors. Upon the dissolution of the Florence M. Howes Scholarship, the MDA agreed that it was important to continue the tradition of honoring the tremendous commitment and hard work of deserving METCO youth by providing financial assistance through the scholarship award process. Therefore, the MDA has proudly established the METCO Directors’ Association Scholarship.



  • Participation in the METCO Program from METCO Directors’ Association Member District.
  • Maintenance of a 3.0 GPA; however, students with a 2.5 GPA with community service and who have held leadership positions will be eligible
  • Current and past involvement in community activism and volunteer work within human service organizations
  • Completion of the admission process to one or more accredited institutions of higher education



Here is the link to the 2019 MDA Scholarship application. Please use for all inquires. The deadline to apply for the scholarship is Saturday, May 25th. All supporting credentials should be scanned and submitted to



Keyshawn Sanders – Foxborough
Echezona Onwuama – Weston
Elise Wheaton – Weston
Jaylyn Billy – Wellsley
Michael Martinez – Weston
Maxwell Baskerville -Belmont
Tiara Lewis – Arlington
LeFaith Massaquoi – Belmont


Lateefah Franck- Lincoln
Jesenia Castro- Foxbourgh/Walpole
Margaret Credle-Thomas- Arlington
Rasheedah Clayton-Natick

Contact the Committee HERE.